Horgas Awarded UF Research Foundation Professorship Award

Ann Horgas, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.

Ann Horgas, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., associate professor and chair of the Department of Biobehavioral Nursing Science at the UF College of Nursing has been named a University of Florida Research Foundation Professor for 2017‐2020.

Horgas, an expert in pain and symptom management in dementia and aging, is one of 34 faculty members across the UF campus recognized for a distinguished record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields. The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

Horgas was recognized for her research to support evidence-based strategies for pain management in older adults with dementia. UF College of Nursing boasts two additional UFRF Professors in Sunny Yoon, Ph.D., R.N., (2016-19) and Jennifer Elder, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., (2015-18).

Horgas teaches theory, research, and statistics to graduate students in the Ph.D. and D.N.P. programs. She supervises Ph.D. dissertations and undergraduate honor student and scholar projects. Horgas’ research areas focus on pain and aging.  She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing and the Gerontological Society of America, as well as a member of the American Pain Society, Sigma Theta Tau International, Hospice and Palliative Care Nursing Association, and the Southern Nursing Research Society.

UFRF Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise.

The purpose of the UF Research Foundation Professorships is to recognize scholarly contributions and to provide incentives for continued excellence in research.

“Faculty chosen for UFRF Professorships have a proven record of research and scholarship and the potential for even more success in the future,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “History has shown that by investing in these outstanding faculty, we can generate significant return in research discoveries, scholarship and technology transfer.”