Parker, Stacciarini Awarded 2017 UF Term Professorship Awards

Congratulations to College of Nursing faculty Jeanne-Marie Stacciarini, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, and Leslie Parker, Ph.D., ARNP, NNP-BC, for being awarded 2017 University of Florida Term Professorship Awards, which began with the start of the fall semester.

Each UF Term Professorship Award is based on assessment of academic accomplishment and a distinguished career that places awardees among the leaders in their discipline. The awards run for three years and provide a $5,000/year salary supplement to the awardee.

Dr. Jeanne-Marie Stacciarini

Stacciarini, associate professor and college’s director of diversity and inclusion and the EMBRACE Program, was recognized for her achievements in research focusing on mental health promotion among rural, immigrant populations, and her leadership in promoting diversity and inclusion at the College of Nursing. Stacciarini was recently awarded the UF Faculty Award for Diversity in April by the UF Office of Multicultural and Diversity Affairs, which recognizes a faculty member who exemplifies the values of diversity and inclusive excellence by actively contributing to and supporting multiple communities across campus.

Parker, a neonatal nurse practitioner and associate professor, was awarded based on her accomplishments in research and clinical scholarship related to nutritional support for very low birthweight infants. In 2013, Parker received two NIH grants to study nutrition in low birthweight infants, the first being a $1.4 million grant to determine nutrition outcomes and risks in the care of infants who weigh less than 3.3 pounds. A second $400,000 grant funded a study to assess the best time to initiate breast milk expression in mothers of very low birthweight infants.

Dr. Leslie Parker

Parker, who still practices in the neonatal intensive care unit at UF Health Shands, received a promotion in July this year to Associate Professor – Tenure Track.

Parker and Stacciarini join Ann Horgas, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, as recipients of University of Florida internal awards this year. Horgas was named a three-year University of Florida Research Foundation Professor in the spring.