Christina Jones Honored as Johnson & Johnson/AACN 2017 Minority Nurse Faculty Scholar

Christina Jones, B.S.N., R.N.
Christina Jones, B.S.N., R.N.

UF College of Nursing first-year Ph.D. student Christina Jones was one of five scholars in the nation named a 2017 Minority Nurse Faculty Scholar. The American Association of Colleges of Nursing, or AACN, and the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future recognized Jones with the prestigious award and scholarship.

Launched to address the faculty shortage and enhance diversity among nurse educators, the AACN-administered program provides generous financial support, mentoring and leadership development to graduate students from minority backgrounds who aspire to teach in the nation’s schools of nursing.

More about Christina

Christina Jones, B.S.N., R.N., is a first-year Ph.D. student at the University of Florida College of Nursing. She graduated from UF with a Bachelor of Science in psychology in 2010, and returned in 2016 to complete the R.N.-to-B.S.N. program while working as a critical care nurse. She currently serves as a member of the College of Nursing’s Advisory Board for Diversity and Inclusion, and is a member of Sigma Theta Tau International and the American Association for Critical-Care Nurses. Christina’s research interest is exploring the impact of nursing implicit bias on racial and ethnic disparities in end-of-life decision-making for terminally ill patients.

“AACN congratulates the new cohort of faculty scholars whose impressive academic and professional backgrounds will make them excellent nursing leaders and inspirational role models for the next generation of nurses,” said AACN Board Chair Ann Cary. “We are grateful to the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for joining with AACN and taking decisive action to help diversify the nurse faculty population.”

Jones’ faculty mentor at the College of Nursing is Jeanne-Marie Stacciarini, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, associate professor and director of diversity and inclusion, and her co-chair is Toni Glover, Ph.D., GNP-BC, ACHPN.

2017 Johnson & Johnson/AACN Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars

  • Griselle B. Estrada, Duquesne University
  • Monica J. Harmon, Villanova University
  • Stephanie Hosley, The Ohio State University
  • Christina Jones, University of Florida 
  • Carli Zegers, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Complete Release: Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future AACN Fall 2017 Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars