Wilkie Named a UF Research Foundation Professor


The University of Florida Research Foundation has named 33 faculty members as UFRF Professors for 2020. Diana Wilkie, PhD, RN, FAAN, the Prairieview Trust – Earl and Margo Powers Endowed Professor within the College of Nursing, was selected for her established research and leadership in palliative care and end-of-life issues. Wilkie is one of 10 faculty selected from the six UF health colleges.

The UFRF recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

“Faculty chosen for UFRF Professorships have a proven record of research and scholarship and the potential for even more success in the future,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “UFRF Professors continue to earn significant grants; publish in the leading journals in their field; assume university leadership positions; and commercializing their discoveries.”

The UFRF Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise. The professorships run for three years.

“It is this selection by their peers that makes the UFRF professorships so special,” Norton said. “The colleagues nominating them highlight the innovative nature of the nominee’s research and express high expectations about what they will achieve in the future.”