2022 Dorothy M. Smith Nursing Leadership Award Winners

With the switch to a virtual conference, the UF College of Nursing was unable to host the 2022 Dorothy M. Smith Nursing Leadership Special Guests and Awards Dinner. At this dinner, the college honors outstanding alumni who have advanced nursing in the areas to which founding dean Dorothy Smith dedicated her career.

Dorothy Smith was one of the early nursing leaders to fully integrate nursing education, practice and research, which laid the groundwork for advanced nursing practice. The College of Nursing has had a strong tradition of excellence, starting in 1956, when Smith and the founding faculty established the College.

For more than 65 years, our alumni have gone on to become national health care and nursing leaders. The College has continued in Dean Smith’s vision, pursuing excellence in nursing education, while tackling the most pressing concerns facing health care.

It is in Dean Smith’s honor that we recognize alumni who serve as leaders in the many areas of nursing that she helped unite and held as important principles. This year, we recognize leaders in the areas of:   

  • Diversity
  • Health Care Quality
  • Innovation
  • Practice
  • Volunteerism

This year, the College of Nursing recognized five Gator Nurses through a virtual online ceremony. Congratulations to the following awardees: